1 Down and 11 more to go

As promised, I’m posting my first month results today.  Overall, a good month.  I have not missed a morning at the gym all month (M-F) and I have done well with my food choices.  Before providing my results, I was going to talk about scales.  My likes, dislikes and overall frustrations with today’s bathroom scale technology.  But I’ve decided this isn’t  really worth the time.  We all know that bathroom scales are not the best way to measure ones success.  Yes they provide us with a guide, a visual that things are improving (or not depending on your current situation) but really it is just another man-made way to tell you if you have passed or failed.  So yes, I have a number for the month and yes the scales are the only way I will know when I’ve lost 100 but I’m not going to hang my hopes on this device.  I’m going to keep my eyes and thoughts on the ultimate goal.  Choosing to live healthier and happier.  Choosing to make the right choices.  Choosing to live life not to watch from the sidelines.

So here are the numbers:

Highest weight ever (that I know of) – 378 lbs (around May 2009)

Starting weight for 1 in 100 journey – 340lbs (July 31, 2010) 

Current weight – 325 (August 31, 2010)

Total 1 in 100 first month result – 15lbs

Overall weight loss from highest weight – 53lbs

So those are the stats.  Not bad.  I expected the first month to be a bit above my goal of 8-10lbs as it was the first month in a long time that I did a consistent, daily workout and really focused on good eating choices.  I also know that in the coming months I may have a month with little or no loss so being a bit ahead is nice. 

What do I have to look forward to in month 2 of this journey?  A continued consistence in the downward trend of the scales.  A fitness challenge as I up the incline and resistance on the elliptical.  A continued struggle with the desire to sleep rather than to get up as the sun no longer lights the skies in the early hours of the morning. The challenge to balance of the right amount of food to keep losing weight yet enough to fuel the exercise so that the weight loss is the fat and not the muscle. Clothes that continue to get big and deciding on whether to spend the money on something that fits or to wait another month or two to reach a better size.   I can handle these challenges.  This journey has just begun and the finish line is a bit closer.  

Proverbs 4:11-12 I have taught you in the way of wisdom, I have led you in the right paths.  When you walk, your steps will not be hindered, and when you run you will not stumble.

3 thoughts on “1 Down and 11 more to go

  1. Awesome work Janelle…I am proud of you. He who has begun a good work in you is faithful to complete it! x

Leave a Reply

