Pants on the ground

It is getting dangerous.  I really need to go shopping for some new pants and workout sweats.  Soon, I may be picking them up from the ground.  While  sweaters, tops and even dresses can be worn a bit oversized, pants just don’t have the same luxury.  I feel a bit stuck as I know I need to make a purchase or two but I’m going to wait as long as possible.  I want to be able to make a wise investment.  

I’m in that place where I can feel the difference in my clothes but I don’t really see the difference yet in the mirror.  I also am not seeing that scale move as quickly as I would like, but one never does.  This week I’ve not had the same eating options with business lunches and team potlucks.  The calorie count has not been as easy to keep track of and I decided to counter this by not only going to the gym every morning but also in the afternoons.  Tomorrow I will see how the week turned out. 

As the holidays approach, I know that it will be tough to keep the losses coming but I’m very determined.  This week was an early start to what will be a very busy season.  I have a feeling the gym will become my best friend (a bit sad I know) to ensure that the 8-10 lbs each month is still the average.  I encourage any reading this to plan ahead for the coming months especially if you are working on your health.  I do not believe it is necessary to deprive ourselves nor should we indulge in excess.  If God didn’t want us to enjoy food and fellowship then we wouldn’t have all the varieties of food and people in the world.  We would have bland, nutritious fuel instead and be bland unsocial people.   He tells us in Joel that there is plenty of food for our bodies. 

Joel 2:21-24 Fear not, Earth! Be glad and celebrate! God has done great things. Fear not, wild animals! The fields and meadows are greening up. The trees are bearing fruit again: a bumper crop of fig trees and vines! Children of Zion, celebrate! Be glad in your God. He’s giving you a teacher to train you how to live right—Teaching, like rain out of heaven, showers of words to refresh and nourish your soul, just as he used to do. And plenty of food for your body—silos full of grain, casks of wine and barrels of olive oil. (The Message)

We are to celebrate and enjoy the fruits God has provided for us.  We are also to be smart and make good choices. 

Oh and please let me know if you see my pants on the ground.

Leave a Reply

