100 in 1 update – month 3

Once again no clever title for the monthly update, maybe I’ll have something for the mid-month update.  So what to write about that might put a smile on a few faces or encourage someone to start their own journey?  I could write about Halloween and candy? Not a huge candy person so not much to write about there….  I could talk about the upcoming holidays but I don’t see them as a huge challenge.  If a high calorie meal/event is coming, plan an extra workout and stay on track before and after in calorie count.  That leaves writing on the basics from the last month, exercise and food.

This month was a good one overall.  It was hard but good.  Monday thru Friday included 2 workouts everyday and I was able to get out on a couple small hikes before the weather really turned for my Saturday’s.  Now I’ve added in a gym visit for Saturday’s for the season.  I’m trying to up the intensity and incline on the elliptical while keeping my workout time and distance as close to the same as possible.  I’m not sure how I would push through without good tunes on my MP3 player and my Kindle books.  The music in my gym’s is horrible and most of the time I don’t have the option to use one of the machines with TV’s connected or they don’t work.  I love it when a really good song comes on with a good beat and I can close my eyes and push a bit harder while worshiping.  I’m still don’t really enjoy the gym but I do know that this needs to be part of my life for the rest of my life.  As I lose weight and my fitness improves, I hope to add more variety and types of exercise.  I will add in some core strength exercises and weight training this month and once below 300 the treadmill will be added to the mix.  One thing I know about myself is that if I don’t mix it up and keep myself interested, working out will be more punishment rather than benefit and that could cause my progress to slow. Not something that I want…oh and if you have suggestions for good books to read while working out, I’ll take them.  The only caveat is that I need them on the Kindle.  Actual books are really hard to read on the machines.

Now onto the food…Keeping the calorie count between 1500 and 1800 does present challenges when I don’t always have the time to cook and would like variety.  Those frozen lunch meals and soups can get old.  I’d love some suggestions on what to take for lunches that will add variety and for quick easy meals at home.  Most recipes are set up for multiple people and servings.  I can only eat so many salads, open so many cans of soup or heat so many frozen meals.  While there are a lot of options that I can use to keep the calories down, they don’t all taste good or provide the best nutritional balance.  Recipes would be nice, especially crock pot or meals that I can freeze multiple servings to use as lunches or diners.

Now for the totals.

Starting weight on 7/31/2010 – 340

So here are month 3 results –
Monthly Goal – 8-10 lbs
Month 3 Result – 9 lbs
Starting Weight for the month was 313
Ending Weight for the month is 304

Total weight loss – 36 lbs

Psalm 100 (New Living Translation)

A psalm of thanksgiving.

1 Shout with joy to the Lord, all the earth!
2 Worship the Lord with gladness.
Come before him, singing with joy.
3 Acknowledge that the Lord is God!
He made us, and we are his.
We are his people, the sheep of his pasture.
4 Enter his gates with thanksgiving;
go into his courts with praise.
Give thanks to him and praise his name.
5 For the Lord is good.
His unfailing love continues forever,
and his faithfulness continues to each generation.

3 thoughts on “100 in 1 update – month 3

  1. wonderful job Janelle!!! you are doing amazing & i am praying for you often. love these updates.

    a good crockpot recipe i came across recently you may enjoy!

    Black Bean Chicken
    2-4 boneless skinless chicken breasts
    1 cup uncooked long grain rice
    2 cans black beans
    1 jar salsa

    literally throw it all in the crockpot on low/8hrs

    serve with:
    corn or whole wheat tortillas
    avocado
    diced tomatoes
    ..you get the idea

    i think this one could freeze well. xoxo

    • Love you Cindy! Thanks for the prayers and encouragement. Nothing will move the scales as fast as I’d like but I’m happy with the steady progress.

      The recipe looks good…similar to a white chicken chili I recently did and I will give it a try.

      Talk with you soon.

Leave a Reply

