Mid-Month Musings…

So I have started going through the closets and I was struck by some of the lessons one can apply in so many ways.  I have three options with my clothes – Keep, Toss or Give Away.  There are so many illustrations and profound truths that can be pulled from these three options and life.

Keep – In all our lives we have been given the tools to be and become the person we are capable of being.  We have to go through the clutter and choose what to keep to push forward to grow, change and realize those next steps that you have been working towards.

Toss – Just like we need to keep certain things there are those items we have held onto for one reason or another.  They are not good for us, they have held us back or they have outlived their original purpose.  I find that putting items in the toss pile is not as easy as one might think.  In general these items are falling apart, worn out but they are also comfortable, safe and familiar.

Give away –  Sometimes we have parts of ourselves that can best be used by others.   To help someone through their next steps, to build up or give new life to rather than simply discard because you are not able to use them any more.  It is important to sort these items out in our lives so that they do not hold back our own change and growth as well.

Now I’m very sure that a Pastor or teacher could take these three points and expound far more than I will in this blog.  Ultimately, I would encourage anyone reading this to not just clean their clothes closets but also other closets in their lives.  How many times do we invite people over and our homes appear clean but those closets are hiding a different story.  I’m on a journey that is not one of simply working out and getting healthy, this is a journey toward becoming more of the women God designed me to be and cleaning my closets are part of this process, literally, physically and spiritually.  I hope some of you are doing the same so that you can be used by God to touch those around you with His love and life.

Romans 12: 1-2 (NLT)

1 And so, dear brothers and sisters, I plead with you to give your bodies to God because of all he has done for you. Let them be a living and holy sacrifice—the kind he will find acceptable. This is truly the way to worship him. 2 Don’t copy the behavior and customs of this world, but let God transform you into a new person by changing the way you think. Then you will learn to know God’s will for you, which is good and pleasing and perfect.

Oh yeah…you want an update.  On track for the month.  In fact it looks like this is trending toward a 10-12lb month and I have left the 300’s behind. Thank you all for your encouragement and prayer.  God is good and I’m staying strong with His help even as I struggle through difficult days and workouts.  I have placed on the calendar two events in the spring as challenges that I’m using to keep the goal moving forward.  The Tulip run in April – a 5 mile/2mile event and the Free Them 5K in May to raise funds and awareness to Stop Human Trafficking.  Some of you will be surprised by this as I DO NOT LIKE RUNNING, but I have realized the need to put these types of events and challenges in front of me on this journey.  I invite any of you whom would like to take up this challenge to join either of these events.  I would love to see you there!

2 thoughts on “Mid-Month Musings…

  1. It sounds like things are going so well for you, Janelle! How encouraging that you are making your goals. And you have left the 300 pound marker behind!!! How exciting!!

    Would you be interested in getting together for a healthy lunch or dinner sometime before Christmas? 🙂

Leave a Reply

