Is there a leak in the ceiling?….month 4 update

Four months down and eight to go in this year-long project and the holidays have arrived.  I believe that I have approached them with a good outlook.  Instead of “I can’t eat this or that” the approach is “eat some, not a lot, enjoy not indulge”.  I’m looking forward to the rest of this year and I’m continuing to see really good results.

So now for the totals:

  • Original Starting weight(7/31/2010) – 340
  • October final – 304
  • November final – 286
  • Weight loss for November – 18 lbs
  • Total weight loss – 54 lbs

Something clicked physically about half way through the month. I noticed that in my workouts I was no longer just barely sweating (damp skin etc) but dripping sweat by the end of the workouts.  The first time I felt that rolling drop on my face, I thought there was a leak in the ceiling…then I realized it was me.  This metabolic change/shift that happened during the month really kicked up the weight loss and I was continually surprised during my weekly weighins by the scale.  It is nice to be surprised in a good way by those pesky scales.

I didn’t really change anything, still working out M-F 45 min. in the morning and 1 hour at night on the elliptical.  I even missed almost a week or working out due to snow, Thanksgiving and a head cold.  I’ve been back in the gym for two days and I can tell I lost a little bit but not much and I expect to be able to lose the 8-10 lbs that is the goal for the month.  Having such a HUGE month is wonderful.  It is a great gift going into the holidays yet I don’t expect a repeat but rather a more conservative number will be the aim.   If I can lose the 8-10 that is the plan, then I will have lost 100lbs since my highest recorded weight of 378.  That would be a wonderful Christmas present.

As we move forward toward Christmas and New Years, I would encourage all of you to stay focused on the path that God has for you.  There are challenges and disappointments that we all deal with but if we stay focused on the dreams and plans that God has given each of us we can get through the difficult times and come out stronger and closer to the goal.  Don’t give up, it is never to late to start again to reach for those dreams.  Take that first small step to starting over, never give up.  Remember that when you fall, God will pick you up and carry you through until you are ready to start again.  He never leaves your side. 

Romans 8:35-37 (New Living Translation)

 35 Can anything ever separate us from Christ’s love? Does it mean he no longer loves us if we have trouble or calamity, or are persecuted, or hungry, or destitute, or in danger, or threatened with death? 36 (As the Scriptures say, “For your sake we are killed every day; we are being slaughtered like sheep.”[a]) 37 No, despite all these things, overwhelming victory is ours through Christ, who loved us.

2 thoughts on “Is there a leak in the ceiling?….month 4 update

  1. You are doing FANTASTIC Janelle!! The loss is a motivator to keep losing, but not as much of a motivator as feeling better, at least that was a big motivator for me. Oh I had no idea how icky I felt until I stopped feeling so icky. LOL Nothing tastes as good as that feels! You are inspiring, keep up the good work!!

Leave a Reply

