Just Rolling Along…Month 10 update

Another month has past and I just keep plugging away.  I don’t really mean to sound like a broken record however; the results each month do have a consistent ring to them.  But I’ll get to that in a moment.

I have many people say that not everyone can do what I’ve been doing this last year.  I really don’t agree.  I do believe that everyone has the ability to make the good choice.  It isn’t a matter of will power or mind over matter.  We all make choices every day and I’ve changed how I approach many of the choices that affect health and fitness.  I think about things a lot more and react less.  I’m not saying it is easy, but anyone can make the changes slowly.  One choice at a time.  Will you work out multiple times a day like I’ve done for most of the year…probably not…but why not choose to add a walk in 3 times a week.  Nothing monumental, just a choice to move and be active more than you currently do.  Weather “should” be improving (although no one as seemed to tell Seattle that spring is actually almost over) so get out and breathe some fresh air.

I also do not believe in cheating on my diet.  Cheating implies guilt and failure.  When faced with a party, event or holiday it is not “cheating” to enjoy the food and fellowship as well.  It is the level of indulging that is key.  Have a piece of cake; just ask for a bit smaller.  Enjoy the picnic or barbeque; just don’t choose to eat until you can’t move.  Food is fuel and many of these events have activities associated.  Use the food to fuel the fun and go back to normal the next day.  No guilt, no cheating, no starting over.  You will not ruin your progress by enjoying food. 

1 Thessalonians 5:14

 14 Brothers and sisters, we urge you to warn those who are lazy. Encourage those who are timid. Take tender care of those who are weak. Be patient with everyone

I hope and pray that this account of my year is an encouragement to all of you.  It is not easy to make the choices needed to change one’s life but I do know it is possible.  I’m no different than anyone else.  I came to a point that I knew I had to choose to change.  My path to change will not be the same as yours.  You made the choices to get to wherever you are right now and you can make the choices to turn around your situation.  Whatever the area is that you feel has been a failure up until today can start moving in a different direction simply by your next choice.  One step at a time.  Nothing happens overnight.

  Now for the results:

 Original journey starting weight (7/31/2010) – 340

  • April final – 239
  • May final – 228
  • Weight loss for May – 11 lbs
  • Total weight loss – 112 lbs
  • Total weight loss from high of 378 – 150 lbs
2 thoughts on “Just Rolling Along…Month 10 update

  1. Janelle, I saw a pic of you on FB and had to show Tobin (you were in a race I think). You looked GREAT! We are so happy for you. 🙂 Miss you!

  2. Miss you too! I’m doing a couple more 5k’s to help keep the focus…race is a very loose term. 😀

    If I travel over the mountains this summer I’ll let you know. I may be up that way at some point. Tell that baby to hurry up already.

    Love you!

Leave a Reply

