Time Flies…but not when you are on an elliptical…Month 11 update

Wow! Where has this last year gone?  I blinked and now there is only 1 month left in this year-long journey. In less than 30 days I’ll head to Texas for vacation and the Caribbean cruise.  My goal to be 100 lbs less than last year has more than been met and I’m still going.  There was a “dream” number in my head for this cruise and even that number is not only possible but most likely I’ll surpass this as well.  God is so good!

In conversations about this journey, many of my friends express that they don’t believe they could do what I’ve set out to do (hopefully NONE of you ever have to lose over 200lbs and I pray that you do not have to ever do this journey). I know that I would not have been consistent this last year without God’s help, the love and support of family and friends, and this blog.  Putting myself out there publicly with my weight, goals, struggles and fears was really a huge part.  I know that some read these post just for the weight update, some for a “little” inspiration and encouragement, and some simply stumble onto the blog due to the creative titles (probably no clue who I am or how they got here).  Accountability is huge in any life change. If no one holds you accountable, it is that much easier to walk away and not push through.  Now true, a public blog might not be your choice, and I have other accountability people in my life as well (Wed Night Ladies Bible Study you are such a blessing!!!  HOTCC your smiles and hugs every week are huge!!! All my family – I love you!!!), so find someone or a group of someones that you can go to for support with your challenges/journey/goals.

I also want to encourage every one of you whom are struggling with weight/health/body issues/other addictions/challenges/struggles/life (so I guess that would include every one out there).  God loves you just as you are!  He created you and knows everything about you.  Never has God said “change, become the perfect person and then I’ll love you”.  It is through His love that I wanted to change, improve, become the person I know He designed me to be.  My choices got me in trouble with my weight but He never once stopped loving me.  He was always there, waiting for me to acknowledge my mistakes and reach out and ask Him to help me change.  I love the following passage from Psalms.

Psalms 139: 13-16(MSG)

 Oh yes, you shaped me first inside, then out;
you formed me in my mother’s womb.
I thank you, High God—you’re breathtaking!
Body and soul, I am marvelously made!
I worship in adoration—what a creation!
You know me inside and out,
you know every bone in my body;
You know exactly how I was made, bit by bit,
how I was sculpted from nothing into something.
Like an open book, you watched me grow from conception to birth;
all the stages of my life were spread out before you,
The days of my life all prepared
before I’d even lived one day.

I’m praying for all of you who read this that God will bless and enrich your lives daily.  Praying that you will embrace is unconditional love and knowing that He will walk with you in every area of your life.  Praying for healing, health, financial peace, strong relationships and whole lives!

As I head in this final month, I’ve not changed anything in my plan.  My goal is still 8-10 lbs. Calorie intake and calorie burn will remain the same as well. Keeping things consistent has really been the key.  Monday the 4th I’ll be headed with my cousins to another 5k and I will post final numbers as I head off on vacation at the end of the month.  Then we will see what is next.  God bless!!!

Original journey starting weight (7/31/2010) – 340

  • May final – 228
  • June final – 220
  • Weight loss for June – 8 lbs
  • Total weight loss – 120 lbs
  • Total weight loss from high of 378 – 158 lbs
One thought on “Time Flies…but not when you are on an elliptical…Month 11 update

Leave a Reply

