100 in 1…the end is only the beginning

It is over.  The year is over.  Wow!  It is so hard to believe yet it seemed like forever.  1 year ago today I marked the beginning of this year with a weigh-in and my first posting.  Today, this category will end but the journey isn’t over.  I’ve learned so much in this last year.  Hard work, determination and focus combined with support, love and prayer is the best weight-loss plan in the world.  If I could figure out a way to market this, I would.

Friday morning, I was lifting my suitcase and put it on the scale to make sure it was under the weight-limit.  It weighed 42 lbs. It wasn’t really easy to lift (not hard, just not light).  Then it hit me, this last year I lost 3 of those suitcases at least.  Wow!  Really puts is all in perspective.  How did I function all those years.  Somehow I did, but it wasn’t enjoyable.  Now, I only have 1 1/2 of those suitcases left to lose until I reach the goal weight I have set for myself.

Here are the totals for the year:

Original journey starting weight (7/31/2010) – 340

  • June final – 220
  • July and over all year final weight – 213
  • Weight loss for June – 7 lbs
  • Total weight loss – 127 lbs
  • Total weight loss from high of 378 – 165 lbs

So, not quite my goal of 8-10 lbs in a month.  After 12 months of making or beating this goal, this isn’t too bad.  Would I have loved a 10 lb month?  Oh yeah! July has been tough.  I had at least one party, barbecue, extra activity nearly every week and yet I still lost weight.  At all of these events, I had fun, enjoyed the food and yet still made good choices.  Now I find myself, even while starting out this trip making smarter choices with my meals.  There just is no reason not to choose wisely where there are so many good choices that are also good for you.

So what is next?  Well as I said in the beginning this journey isn’t over and I have found that inviting others along hold me accountable to keep going and reach the goals I’ve set.  I’ll be starting a new category/topic after my cruise. In this next phase, I will have a weight loss goal of 6-8 lbs per month.  I hope to reach 150 sometime in March or April 2012.  I will continue to choose a few 5k or longer events as well.  I’m not a racer, but I have found these events to be good motivators and many raise funds for some great causes.  It is a little way to help and adds to the focus.  Join me at one of the events, it will be fun (tiring but fun). God Bless!!!

One thought on “100 in 1…the end is only the beginning

  1. That is awesome Janelle!! Great job and congratulations! Your hard work has paid off and I’m so proud of you. I should work towards being as disciplined as you have. 🙂

Leave a Reply

