If it’s not broke, don’t fix it…or…Change is good…

So where to begin.  August is over.  The cruise was a blast.  Real life returned very quickly.  Now it is time to get serious and finish this project of mine. Of course, health and fitness isn’t just a project but an essential part of life and there is no end, but there will be a leveling off and maintaining rather than this intense focus on weight loss. 

Good news for August.  Of course I gained a bit on the cruise and worked hard to not only get it off quickly but to have a lost overall in the month.  Life is to be lived!  Healthy lifestyle is not and should never be about rules, depriving yourself or feeling guilty. Did I consider when and how much to indulge?  Yes, but that is only being smart.  When there was creme brulee on the dessert menu, I enjoyed it immensely.  I think I struck a good balance between wise, healthy choices and enjoying the options presented. So it looks like a small month but I’m happy.  Any progress the is lower than the previous month is a good month.  I now have under 60lbs till my goal.

Changes that are being made?  Well so far I’ve stuck with what has worked, the morning and afternoon time on the elliptical. I also started using myfitnesspal.com which allows me to track all my food and excercise.  This site/app provides me with great tracking and allows me to know where I am in my calorie intake/calories burned goals for each day.  It does open ones eyes when everything you eat is listed.  Most foods and a lot of restaurant meals are included so you can really keep in your range and on track for losing weight (and it works great on my phone).  Next week will bring another possible change as well.  I’ve scheduled a work out with a trainer at the gym.  I really want to add in more strength training, especially with core and upper body exercises.  My biggest fear is messing with what has worked over the last year.  Consistency has been such a huge key to my success. So my brain is going back and forth on changing and not changing the routine until I reach my goal.  I think the work out will be interesting and informative. Generally I subscribe to the “if it’s not broke, don’t fix it” rule but there is also something to the “change is good” rule as well.

Considering I’ve now lost 170lbs overall…I think I have to lean toward the “change is good” in the long run.

Totals:

  • August – 213
  • Sept – 208
  • Weight-loss in August – 5lbs
  • Total weight-loss – 170lbs (from high of 378)

Goals:

  • Monthly weight-loss – 6-8lbs
  • Weight-loss to reach Goal Weight – 58 lbs
  • Goal Weight – 150 lbs
  • Target Date – April 2012
One thought on “If it’s not broke, don’t fix it…or…Change is good…

  1. Janelle!!!! You rock!!! Congratulations on all the weight loss and hard work. You have inspired me to do a blog. So if you click on my info, you will see the Marsh Bog Blog! Anyway, I started getting serious again on my weight loss journey at the beginning of the month. My goal is to lose at least 5 pounds a month and to be 165 by this time next year. But so far, I have lost 6 pounds! Anyway, just wanted to say you inspired me! God Bless and have a great week!

Leave a Reply

