Thanksgiving

I’ve been thinking for a while about what to post today.  In November the focus is on Thanksgiving.  Granted for many, Thanksgiving Day is a day to eat way too much food, catch up with family and watch football games from the couch.  We take so much for granted in this country and in our lives.  The blessings that we have all around us go unacknowledged daily.  By definition, thanksgiving is the grateful acknowledgment of benefit or favors, especially to God.  

  12 Wealth and honor come from you alone, for you rule over everything. Power and might are in your hand, and at your discretion people are made great and given strength. 13 “O our God, we thank you and praise your glorious name! 1 Chronicles 29:12-13(NLT)

I know that there are many days I don’t feel blessed.  Dreams have yet to be fulfilled. Goals have yet to be reached.  Problems yet unresolved.  On the days when I just want to throw it all up in the air and give up, I have to take a step back and think about all that I do have in my life. Home, church, job, family, friends, health…..the list is really endless.  When everything is put in perspective I know that I will get through those bumps in the road.  The key is to not take these blessing for granted but to continually give thanks to God for all that He has done and is doing in my life. 

For flowers that bloom about our feet;
For tender grass, so fresh, so sweet;
For song of bird, and hum of bee;
For all things fair we hear or see,
Father in heaven, we thank Thee!
~Ralph Waldo Emerson

 Today, I want to express my thanks and appreciation to everyone!  Over that last year the, prayers, support and encouragement from so many has help to keep me focused and on track during this journey.  I’m not yet at the end but I am inching closer.  I would like to encourage all of you today.  In front of you may be obstacles that appear too big. Nothing is too big for God!  

13 For I can do everything through Christ, who gives me strength. 14 Even so, you have done well to share with me in my present difficulty. Philippians 4:13-14(NLT)

5Let your conduct be without covetousness; be content with such things as you have. For He Himself has said, “I will never leave you nor forsake you.” Hebrews 13:5(NKJV)

Take time in the next few weeks to enjoy the season.  Enjoy your family, friends, co-workers.  Spread that joy to your neighbors and strangers alike.  God Bless!

 Totals:

  • Nov 1 – 198
  • Dec 1 – 194
  • Weight-loss in Oct – 4 lbs
  • Total weight-loss – 184lbs (from high of 378)

Goals:

  • Monthly weight-loss – 6-8lbs
  • Weight-loss to reach Goal Weight – 50 lbs
  • Goal Weight – 150 lbs
  • Target Date – April 2012
Leave a Reply

