New Years 2012 and one more Milepost gone….

I was looking over last January’s post and realized that in both months I hit some major mileposts to close out the previous year.  Last year I finished 2010 weighing 277 and had just lost 100 total from my highest known weight.  This year I’ve just past another milepost on this journey.  But more on that later.  First a look back a bit more on this journey.

A friend just sent me a photo of myself from May 2009.  This would have been right at my heaviest (378) and the only picture I know of from that time. I really had no clue back then what I looked like as my mind had me at a complete different place.  The reality and the actual were miles apart.

February 2010 I was only slightly lower in weight but I had already made the decision to focus on my health and make major changes. I’ve posted this before as my “before” picture. In March of 2010 I joined Vision Quest Gym and slowly started the work that would be a foundation for where I am today.

On July 31, 2010 I officially started the tracking of this journey and inviting family, friends and even some strangers along for support and accountability. I knew that I had to make the choices and the changes but I also knew that if I didn’t let others in along the way it would be easier to fall back into the old ways.  Below is a photo (not a great one) from August 2010 just at the beginning.

If you’ve read back over the months, you will see that the first 5 months from Aug through December I was able to loose 63 lbs.  At 277 I had lost 101 from my highest of 378.  It was  a great milepost to hit at the first of the year yet I still had so far to go and many more goals to hit during the year.  Below you can see the changes were visible

In April I “ran” the Tulip Run with my cousin and Aunts. 5 miles where I walked more than ran.  I so appreciate my family for participating and helping get me through this event. I was 250 lb at this event and I survived. I’ll be back at this event again this year and have a goal to truly run the 5 miles this year.

July brought the end of the 100 in 1 year journey and a great cruise with wonderful friends. My goal was to cruise at 240, 100lbs down from the 340 on July 31st, 2010.  I cruised at 213. Getting to jump off a cliff in Jamaica was just one of the amazing activities that I would not have been able to do at 340. I would not have succeeded in these goals during this year without prayer and support from so many.  I think the biggest keys to this journey has been consistency. Nothing I did during the year was dramatic or excessive (well okay, working out twice a day might have been a bit excessive).

The last few months since the cruise I’ve kept working hard to get below 200 and eventually reach my goal of 150.  The weight lost is slower than in the beginning and as I get closer, the results are more in the inches than in the scales.  By November 1st I have finally broken through the 200 barrier to 198.  The same friend who took the first picture was in town and we took a trip to Leavenworth where he shot another photo.

So I’ve taken everyone through 2 plus years of photos and milestones.  December started slow, just like November and October.  I kept updating and switching around my workouts.  Finally, in the last two weeks, Christmas and all, the scale has moved again.  Now, as we begin 2012 I have less than 40 lbs to reach my goal of 150.  Total weight-loss is now more than I weigh. The amount of weight I have lost is a whole obese person.  That person would have a BMI of more than 30.0.  This year,  I will reach 150 during the year.  Other goals not only include running the 5 mile in April but running a 1/2 Marathon in June.  If the weather cooperates many hikes to waterfalls and lakes this summer are also in the plans. There are no big trips like the cruise in the works for 2012 currently.  One never knows what doors and opportunities will present themselves and I believe that this year will hold many changes and challenges.  I’m looking forward to seeing where God takes me this year.  Everyday, everyone faces temptations.  Every temptation is an opportunity for success.  Choose the option in the temptations you face that will lead to your success in 2012.

Final totals for 2011 –

Totals:

  • Jan 1, 2011 – 277
  • Dec 1 – 194
  • Jan 1 – 187
  • Weight-loss in Dec – 7 lbs.
  • Weight-loss in 2010 – 90 lbs.
  • Total weight-loss – 191lbs (from high of 378)

Goals:

  • Monthly weight-loss – 6-8lbs
  • Weight-loss to reach Goal Weight – 37 lbs
  • Goal Weight – 150 lbs
  • Target Date – April 2012 (okay more likely in June, but I’ll keep this as April for now.)
One thought on “New Years 2012 and one more Milepost gone….

  1. I must say as the person that took your first and last photo….I stand still in awe and amazement!~ I of course am so very proud and you have become my inspiration to lose the weight that I need to lose to be in the “normal” range of those BMI charts. 2012 will be a great year! And though no cruise is set, once I am home we may have to see how high we can hike up Mt Rainier for that perfect shot 🙂 (that is if I can keep up with you :-))
    Luv ya, T

Leave a Reply

