Flexibility is not just about stretching and the 200lb Challenge

So this morning I was thinking about flexibility while at the gym.  Not just in our bodies, but in life.  Probably should then not be a surprise that this is a big part of my topic for the monthly update.  We will get to the 200lb Challenge later in the post. 

What do you think of when someone says they are or are not flexible?  This is one word that is used in multiple ways.  Per Webster’s Dictionary, the definition is the following:

Definition of FLEXIBLE

1: capable of being flexed : pliant
2: yielding to influence : tractable
3: characterized by a ready capability to adapt to new, different, or changing requirements
 
I see being flexible as the ability to bend.  In life, in work, in your body, in relationships etc.  The opposite is being stubborn, selfish and fearful. When we are afraid, we tend to not want to move or adapt or change with life.  We need to be open to the plans and ideas of others.  Open to the possibilities that are around us.  When you are flexible, you will be able to see how those around you are interlinked and that the world doesn’t revolve around you.  Being flexible lets you see how others can help you and challenge you.  In so many areas of life, we need this characteristic to not just survive but to thrive.
 
In this journey, I have had goals but I have also had to adapt and change my processes to get to those goals.  Physically our bodies need change.  If we stay doing the same thing over and over without variation, your body adapts and doesn’t improve.  I find that I have to change-up the intensity, vary the muscles being worked, work a variety of times and distances.  Yes in the beginning simply burning a ton of calories doing a cardio work out was exactly what I needed.  There was so much to lose and I had done so little for so many years that just a constant workout got the results of pounds coming off.  Just as in life, when you start a new job or you take on a new project, there are processes that need to be followed and learned.  You have to know what you are doing before you can change or improve those processes successfully.  Now that I have the finish line in sight, I struggle with finding the right balance between pushing through in a straight line to that goal, doing what has always works, and adapting to the best plans for long-term success even after the goal is reached. 
 
I’m so close to losing 200 lbs that I can almost touch it.  Will I get there by the end of February?  I don’t know. I’m hoping for it and being flexible this month is going to be a key.  With parties and trips in the works, I’m already planning how I’m going to succeed and reach this mark.  I’ve added a quick trip to Tulsa in Feb for my 20 year college reunion.  So for 5 days my food and activities are not 100% in my hands.  That is a lot for a short month. So what did I do, I signed up for the Alumni 5k on Sat. Feb. 11th.  What more fitting way to celebrate than go for a run on the old campus.  This should also be a good test to see where I’m at in my training for the 5 mile race in April and eventually the half marathon in June.  Running is not natural for me at all, but I am trying to be “flexible”.
 
So what is the 200lb challenge I mentioned earlier?  Well, the challenge is for me to reach having lost 200lbs by the end of Feb.  The challenge for you is to donate canned/non-perishable foods to a food bank by the end of this month.  If 50 people will donate at least 4 lbs of food, 200lbs will be given to food banks to help those in need.  I hope you will join me! I will be setting up a Facebook Event for this challenge as well, but since many of you might not be a friend on Facebook, you can also post here when you give. What a great way to celebrate breaking the 200lb mark!  I will do everything I can to reach this goal! 

 Totals:

  • Jan 1 – 187
  • Feb 1 – 184 (scale teased with a 183 but in the end 184 won out)
  • Weight-loss in Jan – 3 lbs.
  • Total weight-loss – 194lbs (from high of 378)

Goals:

  • Monthly weight-loss – 6-8lbs
  • Weight-loss to reach Goal Weight – 37 lbs
  • Goal Weight – 150 lbs
  • Target Date – June 2012 (officially made the change based on my current rate of loss.)
Leave a Reply

