I’m just not in the mood…

This is about a trainer at another gym (one I do not go to but I read this story and wanted to share).

His name is Jeremy. He’s 19 years old.  A few months ago he won 1st place in his weight class at a national bodybuilding competition. Less than 2 weeks after that win, he collapsed, unable to breathe, and was rushed to the emergency room. He was diagnosed with a collapsed lung, and no one could figure out why a 19 year old in prime physical condition would have such a thing.

After extensive testing, it was determined that he had Melanoma (the most deadly type of skin cancer) and it had metastasized to his lungs and formed tumors there. The tumors are inoperable, the cancer is Stage 4, and the doctors have given him almost no chance of long-term survival. They are going to try a certain type of chemotherapy, but it has little hope of working.

He had no body fat to spare, he lost 30lbs in a month that was pretty much all muscle. He is at home now, but he needs oxygen at times, and he has to go to the hospital regularly for chemo treatments and other tests.

A fellow gym member was surpried when working out one morning, he was there as well, working out. He isn’t the physical specimen that he was just a few short months ago, and his strength has diminished dramatically, but he was THERE… trying, working, refusing to give up.  They had never seen any sight, in the gym or out of it, that inspired them as much as his simple presence at the gym.

He was wearing a custom-made T-shirt. When asked about it, and he said his best friend had it made for him. It had a picture of him at his bodybuilding competition, and above that were these words—

 You can’t stop me. You WON’T stop me.

So, no excuses. No, I’m not in the mood, or I’m too tired or too sore. Not today. Today, the only thing I can feel is this…..

1 Corinthians 6:19-20

19 Don’t you realize that your body is the temple of the Holy Spirit, who lives in you and was given to you by God? You do not belong to yourself, 20 for God bought you with a high price. So you must honor God with your body.(NLT)

Oh and an update on me…well the scale wasn’t pretty at all  but I’m making headway.  There won’t be the detailed list of results like in the older blogs.  I really want to focus less on the number on the scale and more on my size.  The numbers though are the only tangible tracking method though so I did update my ticker numbers and change my final goal from 150 to 160.  Not that I’m not still hoping to hit 150 in the future but since this part of the journey is about reaching size 10 and I know that size 10 will be in the 175-165 or so range, I made the adjustment.  This morning I was at 193.  So 12 up from my low but I was around 15 up last week before a weekend full of activities that included eating out and a potluck. Feel good, focused and determined.

Leave a Reply

